Sweet Salt Air: Book Review

As a long time fan of Barbara Delinsky, I was so excited to be chosen to participate in a chatterbox review of her latest novel “Sweet Salt Air.”
I will be honest in saying that this story had some slow points and quite a few fairly predictable plot points- I would not rate it as the author’s best work.

The main character is spending the summer reacquainting herself with the island she spent summers on as well as her longtime best friend. Secrets, betrayals from long ago, and of course men, all play into the story as the book unfolds. At the end, love and friendships are tested but all works out well in the end.

This would make a nice vacation read, the imagery is excellent and I found myself relaxing on the island with everyone.

I was sent a hardback copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review upon reading it.

About braultfam

I'm a married, often-harried mom of a busy darling dancing diva in her early teen years. I wrangle a houseful of furry children while homeschooling the kid, reading (mainly digital books these days), and writing. And let's not forget, taking time to travel when possible, because we are definitely a family who loves making memories together from PA to FL...I other words, I'm just your average superwoman!
This entry was posted in Books and reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sweet Salt Air: Book Review

  1. Larenda says:

    I got one of the Sweet Salt Air books from Chatterbox as well. I was actually surprised how much I enjoyed it. It was a bit predictable but I found it believable as well.

  2. Susan Gorman says:

    I read Sweet Salt Air last year and enjoyed it.
    I am from Massachusetts and have vacationed in Maine, so the food references hooked me! Farm to table is huge is my community and I thought she did a great job mixing the recipes with the plot.
    My favorite BD book is Lake News.

  3. braultfam says:

    I did like it and found it believable- but it seemed more forced plot-wise than most of her books to me. I knew the “Salt” so-called ‘surprise’ right off the bat, for instance. None of her usual “I didn’t see that coming”
    Not sure I have read that one, Sue, will have to check it out. I loved all the good references without there being recipes like most books with similar plots – I was drooling over a few things!

  4. Larenda says:

    I have only read one other book by Delinsky and that was years ago – so I didn’t have any expectations in regard to surprises. I think I’m glad I knew what the big surprise was before the reveal as I think I would have found it strange if it all hadn’t been lurking in Charlotte’s mind.

Leave a Reply

