The Power of One…Week One

My friend Trish has spent the past year on an amazing weightloss journey, and invited some of her friends to take part in a Challenge from “Shrinking Jeans” called The Power of One.Power of One Challenge

I have to get my weight under control, my health truly depends on it. Arthritis is bad enough without dragging around an extra person worth of FAT.
So today begins week 1 of the Challenge. I begin at 212 pounds. Not my heaviest, but by far not where I should be.
Goals are notoriously my hardest challenge – but I need to make those as well.
I have a pair of short term goals (within the next 2 weeks):
1. I will wean myself from my 2 Dr Pepper a day habit. I will, I will! It may be 1 a week, or diet, but baby steps, right?
and 2. I will drink more water. I despise water. Why consume something tasteless? Because it’s GOOD FOR ME dammit. Honestly, if I drink ONE glass a day, I’m lucky, so again, baby steps – not going to promise to drink 8, let’s start with 4.

And my long-term goals for healthy living – less fried, less cooked, more raw (veggies, that is). I’m going to lower my consumption of condiments (I admit to a love affair with dressings and mayo and such…dead , empty calories). I will not berate myself if I fall off the wagon as I have in past failed attempts. I will get my fat butt back to the Y – ya think the workout gear hubby gave me for Christmas was a hint???

So watch me, support me (please, I’m gonna need all the cheerleaders I can get!), and hopefully in the oncoming months you’ll be seeing less of me 😉

About braultfam

I'm a married, often-harried mom of a busy darling dancing diva in her early teen years. I wrangle a houseful of furry children while homeschooling the kid, reading (mainly digital books these days), and writing. And let's not forget, taking time to travel when possible, because we are definitely a family who loves making memories together from PA to FL...I other words, I'm just your average superwoman!
This entry was posted in Get fit. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Power of One…Week One

  1. Nadine says:

    Great goals, you can do this — and workout gear from hubby is GREAT support! Soon enough you won’t even MISS that Dr Pepper!

  2. Trish says:

    YAY Chris! I am so proud of you for taking on this challenge with me & next year at our Christmas party we will be sexy hot mamas!

  3. Brooke says:

    if you have a desk job just try and filling up a 16 oz glass and setting it by your computer. i swear just sipping as the day progresses is habit for me right now!

  4. Oh Dr. Pepper how I love thee! My goal is to kick the habit too! Good luck on this challenge!!!!

  5. Chris B says:

    Thanks everyone for the tips and encouragement. We can all do this! I am excited and hopeful. Went out to dinner and made better choices already – I had water with dinner tonight (and yes, dr pepper was on the menu!!) – broiled fish and salad without my usual extra dressing. Definitely need to keep water at my desk the days I work, I know that will help greatly.

  6. Erin says:

    We can do this, Chris!!! We have very similar goals… that darn Dr. Pepper!! lol I despise water, too.. but I don’t mind it as much with some Propel packets dumped in!

  7. Good Luck Chris! I too am fighting the fight again. We CAN do this! I found that cutting out sodas completely helps me to stay on track. For some reason, even with diet sodas it makes me want to eat! I truly feel like they put something in those darn things to make us keep wanting them. To help me get those bottles of water down, I add the Sugar Free flavored drink packets to them. Orange Early Rise by Great Value at Walmart is my favorite! Only 5 calories per serving and very yummy! They have different flavors also – apple and grape.

    I got rid of all the leftover cookies and candy from the holidays. It also helps that my hubby is on board too. Good Luck!

  8. rebs says:

    you can dooooooooooooo it!

  9. Betsy Wooters says:

    Good Luck Chris!! I know you can do it!! One of my goals for 2011 is to liVe a healthier lifestyle also. It’s great that you are doing it with a group of friends! That will make it much easier!

Leave a Reply

